Workplace gender equality indicators

The seven gender equality indicators help you assess where you can improve gender equality in your workplace.

What are the workplace gender equality indicators?

The Gender Equality Act 2020 sets out seven workplace gender equality indicators. They represent the key areas where workplace gender inequality persists – and where progress towards gender equality must be demonstrated.

Defined entities must collect and report data against these indicators in their workplace gender audit. Defined entities are required to make reasonable and material progress in relation to the workplace gender equality indicators.

The workplace gender equality indicators are:

  • gender pay equity
  • gender composition at all levels of the workforce
  • gender composition of governing bodies
  • workplace sexual harassment
  • recruitment and promotion
  • gendered work segregation
  • leave and flexibility